Skip to content

Going Minmatar

October 12, 2009

Yeah, so I love my Rifter.  Apparently I’ve got the the need for speed. It was a fun weekend and a lot happened, so let’s get started.

First off I spent a couple of hours playing with Rifter fits in EveHQ. Finally coming up with something I liked and fit Siberian’s skills. This fit was then used as a basis for 3 variations, ranging from affordable, to more expensive, to I don’t quite have the skills to make it work yet. So here is my Rifter, Ruffian Class mark I.

Ruffian mark I

Ruffian mark I

With the fit complete I went shopping for enough components to loadout about 3 of these, saving as much ISK as I could in process which involved making about 25 jumps to get to 5 waypoints to pick everything up and then head back to base. Speaking of waypoints, that whole game system could use some improvement, I’ll probably write a post on my suggestions at some later date.

Ready to test my new ship I flew out to some asteroid belts to do some ratting.

ruffianmI

She handled exceptionally well, so I took her to a level 2 Deadspace complex, first two rooms were a breeze but I had to bail on the 3rd one. Still I was very happy with my fit. I ratted for awhile longer then I wanted to get in some trouble so I headed to lowsec.

Making the rounds thru the belts I ran into this guy and two other Guristas:

wanted

I took out his sidekicks easily enough but I couldn’t do enough DPS to hurt the boss, on the other hand he couldn’t track me fast enough to hit me very much so it was a stalemate. I announced in local that there was a pirate with a bounty in belt 5 if anyone wanted him. Someone sent me a fleet request and I joined. I wasn’t too concerned about a betrayal at this point. He said he would help me take out the rat but that he needed to get more help. After flying around the pirate for 15 minutes I was getting dizzy and my new fleetmate didn’t seem to be finding anyone so I gave up and headed back to station. Really wanted that bounty.

The next day I went out looking to lose some ships for the 50fights project. I had yet to lose on of my Ruffian Rifters so I was feeling confident. In lowsec I warped to a spot I made about 300k off a gate. There was a Jaguar hanging out at the gate and after a moment he started heading towards me. He sent me a fleet invite but I declined not convinced I wanted to get into this fight, thinking I’d probably lose. So I waited till he was about halfway to my position and I warped to the gate and jumped to the next system. Then I changed my mind, I wanted the fight, so I jumped back. He was still out near my book mark so I warped back. Targeted him, webbed him and opened fire. And he did the same. There is something funny about two really fast frigates webbed about 1000m from each other basically just throwing stones back and forth. He had bigger stones and I was quickly into structure. He wanted 10m from me which I declined and offered a GF to which he replied “Likewise” and I warped off in my pod. Now that was fun!

The day was almost over when I realized I was ending the weekend with more money than I started it, which certainly hasn’t been the case most times. The only problem is that I was itching for another fight so back to lowsec I go again.

It wasn’t very satisfying, while fighting some rats and getting hit pretty hard this guy warped in and hit me once or twice and I went boom. I ran back to home station. After buying replacement parts I was down a good bit thereby ending the weekend with less money than I started with. Oh well.

It was a great weekend in New Eden and I was happy to lose 2 more ships in PvP, so only 46 more to go : )

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 12:29 pm

    A fellow PvP Rifter pilot! Hurrah! I have been flying the Rifter for a few weeks now, after transitioning from a lucrative but boring career as a Caldari Carebear.

    I wanted to discuss Rifter fittings with you, as you and I use completely different fits, and others that I have seen online are completely different from both of ours.

    I have a couple of problems with your fitting. First, I don’t see a warp scrambler. Warp scrams are vital for keeping the enemy from running away. I promise that you won’t score a kill if you don’t have a scram fitted, as the enemy will just leave when he gets badly damaged (unless he’s not paying attention I guess). Also, you’re dual tanking. You have an active shield tank and a buffer armor tank fitted. This is not necessary, and tanks are usually more effective when you specialize in one area. Resists are important for tanking too, not just buffer and regen. Mid slots are usually for speed and tackle (web and scram), so armor tank is generally preferred for a PvP Rifter.

    Here’s my fitting:

    [Rifter, PvP Rifter (Armor + Nos)]
    200mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
    Damage Control II
    Small Armor Repairer II

    1MN Afterburner II
    Warp Scrambler II
    Fleeting Propulsion Inhibitor I

    150mm Light AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    150mm Light AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    150mm Light AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    Small Nosferatu II

    [empty rig slots]

    The idea behind my fitting is to armor tank and use the Nosferatu to keep the armor repairer alive as long as possible. The armor plate and damage control give me 1051 armor hp and decent resists across the board, including structure.

    Here is an alternative fitting, based on an entirely different Rifter philosophy. I stole it from BattleClinic:

    [Rifter, Rifter: Bucktooth’s Revenge]
    Gyrostabilizer II
    Adaptive Nano Plating II
    200mm Reinforced Steel Plates II

    1MN Afterburner II
    DDO Photometry Tracking Disruptor I, Tracking Speed Disruption (Script)
    Faint Epsilon Warp Scrambler I

    150mm Light AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    150mm Light AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    150mm Light AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    Small Energy Neutralizer II

    [empty rig slots]

    This fitting has no armor repair, but it has a good buffer and armor resists. It is designed to handle both frigates and turret-based ships in general. The Tracking Disruptor helps the ship to avoid fire from the enemy. In a gang, this module protects all of your team mates from fire. The Neutralizer is designed to eat the capacitors of frigates. Without capacitor, enemies cannot use speed boosts, active tanking modules, hybrid turrets, lasers, webs, scrams, etc. This can be incredibly useful and makes the enemy a sitting duck. Since he can’t scram you, you can also escape if you need to. The Gyrostabilizer can be replaced with a Damage Control for less dps but more tank.

    The beauty of the Rifter is that it, like other Minmatar ships, is so versatile. There are many ways to fit it. I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on my fittings and a defense of your own. If we can get more people in on the discussion, ultimately it will lead to us all flying better ships and being more formidable in combat. Everyone wins except our victims 🙂

    Keep up the great work with your blog. And thanks for reading!

  2. October 12, 2009 12:47 pm

    More Minmatar pilots FTW.

Trackbacks

  1. Fit to be a Rifter « Deep Space Transponder

Leave a Reply

