Skip to content

Taxation Without Representation

September 24, 2009
tags: , ,

Recently CCP Soundwave reported in the DEV Blog that players who belong to NPC corps would be subjected to a 11% tax.

I understand that this is meant to bring player corps and NPC corps more in line with each other and more specifically to push players into player-run corporations. I also understand that EVE is heavily designed around corporations and that much of the more interesting content is only realistically accessible to players working together in a corporation. Soundwave contests that the tax pays for the security and other highsec benefits, ok I’ll buy that but here’s the thing: No way does an NPC corp provide all the benefits of a player-run corporation and a player in an NPC corp has no say in the operation of that corporation so we get taxation without representation.

It’s important that I point out that I actually don’t have a problem with this new tax. However, this does make me feel somewhat pressured to join a player-run corp which I fully intend on doing at some point but I’m just not ready yet, mostly because I’m having a blast experimenting on my own. So it looks like I’ll have to shell out the money to start my own corp if I don’t want to pay the tax. Too bad there isn’t the option to revolt against the corp and force some representation or at least have some say in how my 11% gets spent.

My name is Siberian San.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 11:08 am

    San , do join a corp even if it is with the understanding that your just exploring. NPC corps offer 0 benefits and now a tax…bail out while you can. Thanks for the consideration about the hax4r…don’t worry they will fall in the end.

  2. September 24, 2009 11:50 am

    Well I’m strongly considering it now with the new tax. I just figured I should know what I wanted to do for the long haul before I commit to a corp. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

