Skip to content

Welcome to EVE

September 21, 2009
tags: ,

I’ve been playing EVE for about 3 months now but it wasn’t until this last weekend that I understood how unforgiving EVE can be. Over the course of two days I went from almost 30m isk to less than 1m isk. I lost 2 Badger Mark IIs, 12000 m3 of soil, and 6000 m3 of coolant. Both my ships fell at gates when I attempted to warp off I was warp scrambled and blown to tiny pieces in seconds. Thankfully I didn’t get podded either time.

These losses hit me pretty hard and I’ll tell you why.

About 3 weeks ago I moved to a low security system in Lonetrek. It wasn’t a well thought out decision it just seemed like a good idea at the time. I was starting to trade more and more and my new home was centrally located on many of my routes. Not having spend much time in lowsec previously I was very nervous and paranoid for the first few days. I’d heard how dangerous lowsec could be and even heard that lowsec is more dangerous than 0.0. I flew cautiously. Nothing happened. I moved all my stuff from highsec to lowsec. Nothing happened. For three weeks I made trade-runs and did some ratting, scanned down a few sites and ran a couple of missions and nothing happened.

I was beginning to wonder what all the fuss was about. Well now I know. My wake-up call came in loud and clear. So I’d like to take this opportunity to thank VoZzZic of Fremen Sietch corp and Mondoom of We See Dead People corp for blowing up my Badgers and my cargo. Next time it won’t be so easy.

My name is Siberian San.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

